top of page

How a knife saved my life

At Dark Timber Custom Knives we believe a knife is an everyday tool that can be utilized in many different way from simple cutting to complex tasks like preparing food or for survival. Knives have been carried around as tools as early as the Vikings and continue to be an outdoors-men's best friend! But in many situations knives can be the only thing that seperates you from living or dying. below we shared some unique stories of knives doing exactly what they're supposed to, help us survive!

"When we deployed to Iraq my knife, of course, went with me. During a patrol in Fallujah we came under heavy fire from the surrounding buildings and eventually RPG fire from a nearby rooftop. During the firefight I took a round in my chest plate and crawled to take cover in a nearby doorway and was separated from my platoon. I moved inside the building and attempted to return fire but every shot jammed the slide back due to dirt. I heard the voices of some of my guys on the other side of the building and began to move through the building towards them. At the end of a hallway there was a room with a door to the back of the building, I moved through the door with my weapon drawn and was struck in the left forearm with a pipe firing my weapon and jamming the slide. I dropped my weapon and slammed into the mans chest placing my arm under his arm with the pipe and pulling his head back by his hair. With my free hand I deployed my knife and stabbed the man ending his life. You could say any knife would have done the same, but that knife operated under every condition that was thrown at it and held up where other knives I had failed miserably."

Sincerely,

Matt M.

source: http://www.coldsteel.com/Customer-Testimonial-03.aspx

"I'm a deputy constable in ***** I was patrolling my usual area when a call was dispatch via radio of a major accident at a near by intersection. I was near and responded code(lights and sirens). I was first on scene and saw a blue car in the ditch. I saw 2 kids and their father. The 7 year old complained of some pain and I saw the seat belt burn on his neck & abdomen. I checked on his father, saw the blood coming from his arm, he was awake but disoriented.

As I check the rest of the vehicle, I noticed a 3 year old child in its safety seat but was leaning to the left side of the car. I was so scared for her as she looked at me with those eyes and sweat running down her forehead. At that time EMS was on scene. Myself & the paramedic ran around to the other side of the car and began to open the door to take her out. The seat belt would not disengage so I used my knife and it cut them loose. She was pulled out safely and transported to the hospital!"

Deputy Constable Victor L.

source: http://www.benchmade.com/company/testimonials.aspx

"Here’s a true story: back when I was much younger in my late 20′s, my brother and I went up to the Adirondacks. It was a hunting and hiking trip celebrating my brother’s recent college graduation. While walking a steep trail, I lost footing on some wet leaves and fell. As I fell I happened to loosen some rocks, and then I had the helpless silent sensation of falling. I landed hard, I lost my breath, I saw stars. I ended up hurting and herniating two discs in my back. I was barely able to move or roll over without screaming pain.

My brother faced the dilemma of whether to go for help, or stay with me. It was getting dark. He chose to go, but not without starting a fire near me so I could stay warm and so there was smoke and fire he could find to return with help. There was enough small brush in the area that I could use my elbows to shimmy to get more wood to feed the fire. Luckily for me, I always carry a 499 Air Force Survival knife. However, it was not the best choice that day. It was difficult to use for him or me to cut branches to untangle me or feed the fire. While it could be used for sawing motions, it was not good for chopping or cutting away brush. It did the job it had to do that day, although more difficult than what was needed. To make a long and painful story short, I was rescued several hours later in the dark by some state rangers whom my brother was able to direct to the location. I still have my $40 499 Air Force Survival knife and it saved my bacon that day, but have always looked for something better.

The 499 Air Force Survival Knife was originally made in the USA by the Ontario Knife Company, and they still make it today. It has a 5″ blade and a design that’s generally similar to the larger Ka-Bar USMC fighting knife, but at $40 the 499 is considerably cheaper. It’s a fantastic bargain in its own right, although it’s a bit too small for optimal use chopping brush and similar survival tasks.

He was lucky to have a serviceable tool on hand when his day in the woods turned suddenly into a survival situation. It helped him keep his fire burning and signal his rescuers. Tools and fire are what allowed our early human ancestors to survive in a dangerous world of fangs, horns and hooves, and when you find yourself off the grid they’re just as vital now as they were then.

Be prepared."

source: http://www.thetruthaboutknives.com/2013/03/knife-stories-ontario-499-air-force-survival-knife/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page